To My Bro in Christ

To my  Bro in Christ

I am sorry,

I am sorry we live in a Culture that looks to demasculinize you. A culture that pollutes us with images of men who are striving for anything but virtue. I am sorry that the media always portrays husbands or male characters as these dim witted lazy men who can do nothing for themselves and demand that a woman serve him hand and foot.

I am sorry,

I am sorry that we never acknowledge that men struggle with self worth and body image as well. I am sorry that the Culture tells us that real men are these over sexualized beings who spend 6 plus hours in the gym and have no control over their sexual desires.

I am sorry,

I am sorry that the Culture portrays the nice guy as this nerdy back boneless man who can never seem to get out of the friendzone and doesn’t display any sort of confidence or boldness in his encounter with woman or people in general. I am sorry that the only guy who seems to display any sort of confidence is the douchebag who has no respect for himself or woman, but always seems to have what he wants when he wants it.

I am sorry,

I am sorry that the Culture has fed us the lie that “ Men don’t cry.” That if a man cries or displays any sign of sympathy or compassion towards something, than he is weak, not a real man. I am sorry that the Culture has told you to suck it up and shove those feelings away.

I am sorry our culture sucks and that it doesn’t uplift you.

I hear your frustration.  I am here to say that I don’t believe those lies. And as your sis in Christ, as a fellow struggling saint, I strive to always lead you closer to Christ and uplift you. I strive to always encourage you in the ways of Christ. I strive to always feed you the truth and help you break away from the lies.

I cannot sit here and pretend like I fully understand the pain, the struggles, and battles you as a man striving to live a life of Christ, a life of virtue, face everyday. Just like I do not expect you to fully understand what it is like to be a daughter of Christ, striving for the same thing. But I can say that I desire nothing more than your good. I desire nothing more than your Sanctity. I desire that you become the man that God has created you to become.

I strive to remind you everyday that you were made for so much more than what this Culture tells you. You are a strong, bold, dauntless man of God. You are a man entrusted with the duty to uphold the dignity of every woman, a duty you will fulfill beautifully and courageously.  

I promise to do my part as your sis in Christ, as a fellow struggling saint, to challenge you to greatness.I promise to do my part in leading you away from sin and closer to the heart of Christ.

We live in a Culture that strives to kill any ounce of virtue, of authenticity. A Culture that tries to pin men and women against each other and convince us that we are alone in our strive for holiness. I refuse to allow it to win. I chose to stand against the tide, to break the chains. I chose to help restore the Culture through virtue. I chose to do that with and through my love for every bro and sis in Christ. I chose to stand beside you, walking the long and narrow path to heaven, to an eternity of authentic happiness and joy.

Love,

Your sis in Christ

“Courage, there are battles ahead, but we are not alone”- St. Don Bosco pexels-photo-510784

Leave a Reply

